Storymoja

Celebrating East African Writing!

Murder Most Foul: Winning Stories

After deliberating, the judges have finally come to a decision. The comments by the judges and readers will give an insight on why the stories won..

1st Place: Penance by Wairimu Mureithi

Judge’s comments: It has been a while since I read a story with good plotting and such a fantastic twist. I though the young priest was just a meddler with no business following a penitent around. Just as I was wondering why he was so diligent, the writer gives me the answer. I enjoyed reading this one, as a reader, an editor and a judge.

“I like the fact he did not focus so much on the ‘big man’ but on the collateral damage. The best part is when we discover that the priest is the son of the bodyguard. The next best thing is that the writer left us in suspense- we can only guess what happens next.”

Reader’s comments: This is an interesting one and I enjoyed it. Though I would have loved to know what the Father did…though I guess he did it. A few typos here and there but good work all in all. Keep it up

Wairimu Mureithi is the winner of 2 books of her choice from the Storymoja Catalogue and Corridors of British Colonial Injustice by Samuel N Waruhiu, 2 season tickets for to the Storymoja Hay Festival taking place between 14th and 16th September.

 

2nd Place: Big Guy by Kevin Gachagua Rigathi

Judge’s comments: Good dialogue, the writer though about his characters well and put effort in ensuring that the conversations were not boring. The grammar is fine as well; it is good to notice that the writers who submitted did edit their work first.

“I like the twist in the story and the suspense at the end. The fact that the reporter gets the story from the main man and he does not tell us is quite something.”

Reader’s comments: This story kind of disappointed me at the end- I would have really liked to hear the ‘big-man’s’ story…nevertheless, it has a certain pull that gripped me from the first word to the last.

Kevin Gachagua Rigathi wins a copy of Corridors of British Injustice by Samuel N Waruhiu and 2 season tickets to the Storymoja Hay Festival.

3rd Place: If I die by Ruth Lucinde

Judge’s Comments: Good story, good flow of ideas, good grammar, no typos… though I am still wondering at this, “He stood rooted to the ground. His feet as cold as ice-heavy bricks of ice that radiated sparks of shock, tension and fear into his bones.” I thought about and over that simile for a very long time. That image did not register in my head. Also one exclamation mark is enough for one sentence, “He is dead!!”

“Reading this step by step just showed that the writer took her time to think and write.  The title is on point.”

Reader’s comments: I usually lose interest almost as soon as I start reading a story. But in this case, it was grabbed right from the start. There’s that spark that leaves one begging for more. I didn’t even know Fr. Kaiser’s story, but after reading this am going on and Googling it. Splendid!

Ruth Lucinde wins 1 season ticket to the Storymoja Hay Festival.

Visit the Storymoja Hay Festival Website, for all the details on the guests and events during the festival.

4 comments on “Murder Most Foul: Winning Stories

  1. gachagua
    July 10, 2012

    Phew, glad i actually made it here.
    Although, i should add that my stories title is “The big man” not “big guy”
    and i’m quite sure the winning author’s name is “Muriithi” not “Mureithi”
    Since we’ve been critiqued i see no reason why we cant turn it around hehe

  2. Patricia
    July 10, 2012

    I personally enjoyed reading ‘Penance’ and it absolutely deserved 1st place. It grabbed my attention from the first line and held my interest throughout. The twists and the suspense were the icing on the cake. Great job.

  3. Gathoni
    July 10, 2012

    Not to make a big deal out of it or anything, but my name IS Muriithi and not Mureithi.
    Glad I won though :) :) :)

  4. Ruth Lucinde
    July 10, 2012

    I loved ‘The big man’..either way,I still agree that ‘Penance’ took the show..

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 9, 2012 by in Writer's Blog.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 18,092 other followers

