Storymoja

Celebrating East African Writing!

Sing me a Song by Eric Gichira – Poem of the Month

Sing me, sing me a song

That reminds me where I belong;

A song that soothes my heart

With timeless beauty of art

 

Sing me a song of inspiration

That leads me to conviction;

That blows my mind away

Just like the wind in May

 

Sing me a song that instructs

And not a song that distracts;

Sweeter than the sweetest text

And keeps me guessing what’s next…

 

Won’t you, won’t you sing me a song?

 

©Eric Gichira

This poem was voted for most as part of the February 2011 Free Theme & Style Poetry Competition.

March Poetry Theme was Red White Black and Green. That seemed to me such a rich potential for patriotic poems. Obviously you had other things on your minds, seeing that there were no poems under this theme that were submitted. April Poetry Theme is Freedom. You can use any poetry genre of your choice. Creative passion is encouraged. Please send in your poetry marked Poetry [Freedom] to juliet@storymojaafrica.co.ke by March 26th, 2011. To see the February Poetry Entries go here.


 

4 comments on “Sing me a Song by Eric Gichira – Poem of the Month

  1. Orato
    February 28, 2011

    The soft tone appeals to me! Well written!

    Like

  2. Brian Kilindi
    March 1, 2011

    Good composition, direct and clear. Commended. Keep writing. You can make it!

    Like

  3. Mama Rafo
    March 17, 2011

    Too shallow. Put more effort.

    Like

  4. wambui
    March 21, 2011

    well done. great flow and rhythm.

    Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 28, 2011 by in Writer's Blog.
