Storymoja

Celebrating East African Writing!

It’s the Season! – Inspiration from last year’s poetry contest winners

I hope your Monday is a whole better than mine. I’d loooove to tell you about my woes, I mean, we’ve already established that I like telling stories. But this week it’s your turn to tell stories and write lots and lots of poems.

I thought it might be nice to bring some inspiration from last year’s Storymoja Hay Festival Poetry Contest. Below are the three poems that won that contest.

First place: Nkirote: 2 a.m. Souvenir

Second Place: Michael Kwambo: Letter from Kamiti

Third Place: Karanja Kebuchi: Four Wishes for Kenya

Just in case you haven’t heard the news:

STORYMOJA HAY FESTIVAL POETRY WRITING CONTEST

Theme/Topic: This is my Africa

Prizes:

1st Place: Season Pass, a spot in all the workshops for the day, access to Pink Lounge to mingle with the Stars.

2nd Place: Gate Pass for one of the first two days, including entry to all workshops of the day.

Deadline to send in poem: Friday 9th September 2011 at 4pm East African Time. Send in your poem in word 97 attachment to blogs@storymojaafrica.co.ke.

Make sure you mark in the subject line: Storymoja Hay Festival Poetry Writing Contest (all submissions not marked as such will be disregarded).

Winners will be informed of which day the specific workshops fall on so they can schedule themselves.

“I think it’s a great festival. The habit of reading will be kept alive through such events. I’m amazed by the huge response and liveliness of the participants.” Vikram Seth, author of ‘A Suitable Boy’

 

Information

This entry was posted on August 29, 2011 by in Writer's Blog.
