Storymoja

Celebrating East African Writing!

I Imagine – A Winning Poem

IF I WAS GOD

I would undo it all if I was God,

I would recall that fire

Ungrow it from storm to spark, back to just friction,

I would unstrike that match, Rhino® or Farasi®,

Then place the sticks beautifully back into their box,

and promise to only light fires for cooking.

I would unpour that petrol, back into its cans.

I would unbreak the window to that woman’s house,

And unwalk the distance, back to my place,

I would sleep easy knowing I’m loved and blessed.

On the day before I would uncarry my load,

I would unbuy the fuel and be rich for a while,

I would unpay myself from hatred and arson,

and unsay the words of oath,

I would unburn, unwalk, unbuy, untalk, unbreak, unhate……

If I was God I would undo it all.

©Sanya Noel 2013

3 comments on “I Imagine – A Winning Poem

  1. Ayoub Mzee Mzima
    August 5, 2013

    Beautiful!

    Like

  2. wow I completely love this poem. I would undo it all too!!

    Like

  3. Lima (@movebreathing)
    August 15, 2013

    Thank you guys for the positive responses :).

    Like

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 5, 2013 by in Writer's Blog.
