Storymoja

Celebrating East African Writing!

Read Aloud At Ncooro Academy-Ongata Rongai, Kajiado County

Though I had prepared well, I did not know what to expect for this was my first time to participate in such an event. Somebody should tell me the correct pronunciation of the school name NCOORO

At exactly 7.30, as I was about to step out of the house, (The school is a walking distance from my house) It started raining cats and dogs. I  called Teacher Naomi, the contact teacher who said she was also held up.

Quickly I changed my shoes, put on a raincoat and set off. The rain increased but I was determined to reach this school on time. Though the school is a waling distance, I jumped into a matatu to save face and time.

Apparently we arrived the same time with Teacher Naomi,- who has been moved to the secondary section. However, she was most cooperative referring me to the teacher in charge of the primary section who seemed to have woken up on the wrong side of the bed…. My cheerful smile despite the crazy weather hardly lit her face.

Because it was still drizzling, she assembled the children in one large room. Still with that stern look, she told the children to shut up. She could hardly remember my name but I soldiered on.  After all in my other life I was a teacher and nothing, not even the rain could make me lose the opportunity of showing off my professional skills to these tots and their teachers. I introduced myself as a writer of children’s storybooks and summarized with READING IS COOL. The words worked magic-briefly.

I read the passage in my clearest voice, infusing action here and there. To engage them I asked two pupils to read but they were shy. I wished Teacher Naomi was near but she had gone to the secondary section. Her counterpart was more of a police officer than a teacher. Anyway, I finished reading, preached about tribalism.

I wished I had carried materials from the office (Storymoja) to reinforce my mission.

All in all it was a good experience.

Reading Ambassador Rebecca Nandwa

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2016 by in Writer's Blog.
